2016 APrIGF Elections

2020 Elections | 2019 Elections | 2018 Elections | 2017 Elections | 2016 Elections | 2015 Elections

Voting Period

Start Date: 8 Aug 2016
End Date: 15 Aug 2016 (24:00 UTC)

View Elections Results

Candidates Listing


Vice-Chair position (2016-2018)

Mr. Maheeshwara Buddhika Bandara KIRINDIGODA bio Sri Lanka

Title: Media Secretary - Uva Province Governor's Office - Sri Lanka
Stakeholder Group: Government

Ask Maheeshwara a question

Mr. Kanumuri S RAJU bio India

Title: Founder / Innovator / Social Activist
Stakeholder Group: Civil Society

Ask Kanumari a question

Mr. Chester SOONG bio Hong Kong

Title: Chairman, Internet Society HK (ISOCHK)
Stakeholder Group: Civil Society

Ask Chester a question

Elections Committee for 2016

  1. Hiro-Hotta, Japan (Private Sector/Technical)
  2. Maureen Hilyard, Cook Island (Civil Society)
  3. Ali Hussain, Pakistan (Private Sector)

Eligible Voting Members for 2016

(Please refer to the Election Procedure for the criteria)

  1. Abdul Awal, Internet Society Bangladesh Dhaka Chapter (Civil Society)
  2. Akinori Maemura, JPNIC (Technical)
  3. Ali Hussain, Pakistan Information Security Association (PISA) (Private Sector)
  4. Aris Ignacio, Southville International School and Colleges (Academia)
  5. Arun Sukumar, Observer Research Foundation (Civil Society) - Vice-Chair
  6. Babu Ram Aryal, ISOC Nepal (Civil Society)
  7. Chat Garcia Ramilo, Association for Progressive Communications (Civil Society)
  8. Cheryl Langdon-Orr, ICANN (Civil Society)
  9. Don Hollander, I2 Consultants (Private Sector)
  10. Duangthip Chomprang, Thailand (Civil Society)
  11. Edmon Chung, DotAsia Organisation (Technical)
  12. Gunela Astbrink, ISOCAU (Civil Society)
  13. Hiro Hotta, JPRS (Private Sector)
  14. Hong Xue, Beijing Normal University (Academia)
  15. Jahangir Hossain, Internet Society Bangladesh Dhaka (Civil Society)
  16. Jia Rong Low, ICANN (Technical)
  17. Jungbae An, Korean SIG Working Group (Technical)
  18. Kelvin Wong, ICANN (Technical)
  19. Kenny Huang, TWNIC (Technical)
  20. Kuo-Wei Wu, NIIEPA (Technical)
  21. Maureen Hilyard, At-Large Committee, ICANN (Civil Society)
  22. Mohammad Kawsar Uddin, Internet Society Bangladesh Dhaka Chapter (Civil Society)
  23. Mohit Saraswat, Pepsi- Dubai Refreshments (PepsiCo Bottler) (Private Sector)
  24. Mubashir Sargana, ISOC Pakistan Islamabad Chapter (Civil Society)
  25. Noelle de Guzman, Asia Pacific, Internet Society (ISOC) (Civil Society)
  26. Paul Wilson, Asia Pacific Network Information Centre (APNIC) (Technical) - Chair
  27. Peng Hwa Ang, Singapore (Academia)
  28. Santosh Sigdel, ISOC Nepal Chapter (Civil Society)
  29. Satish Babu, Computer Society of India (CSI) (Civil Society)
  30. Shibendu Debbarma, Tripura University (Academia)
  31. Shreedeep Rayamajhi, RayzNews (Civil Society)
  32. Srinivas (Sunny) Chendi, APNIC (Technical)
  33. Sylvia Cadena, ISIF Asia (Technnical)
  34. TH Schee, Open Knowledge Taiwan (Private Sector)
  35. Zakir Syed, SAMENA Telecommunications Council (Civil Society)

Voting Rules and Procedure:

  • Each eligible voting member will have ONE vote for EACH position and there will not be any proxy votes.
  • Candidates are not allowed to vote for the respective position that they are running for.
  • Eligible voting members will receive individual voting credentials for the online voting platform via email from the secretariat before the voting period
  • For any eligible voting members listed above but do not receive any login credentials until 7 Aug, please kindly contact the secretariat as soon as possible
  • The election result will be announced by the Election Committee within 48 hours after the voting period closing.

For any enquiries, please contact the Election Committee at [email protected].

- last updated 3 Aug 2016