2020 APrIGF Elections

2020 Elections | 2019 Elections | 2018 Elections | 2017 Elections | 2016 Elections | 2015 Elections

(Community announcement can be found at: https://www.aprigf.asia/news/2020/aprigf-election-2020-election-process-announcement.html)

Voting Period

Start Date: 6 Jul 2020
End Date: 10 Jul 2020 (23:59 UTC)

View Elections Results

Candidates Listing

Vice-Chair position (2020-2022)

Name: Ms. Amrita CHOUDHURYbio APAC

Title: Director, CCAOI
Stakeholder Group: Civil Society

Name: Dr. Aris IGNACIObio Philippines

Title: Dean of College of Information Technology, Southville International School and Colleges
Stakeholder Group: Academia

Elections Committee for 2020

  1. Mr. Ananda Gautam, Nepal (Civil Society)
  2. Mr. Gnanajeyaraman Rajaram, India (Academia)
  3. Ms. Maureen Hilyard, Pacific (Civil Society)
  4. Dr. N.Sudha Bhuvaneswari, India (Academia)
  5. Mr. Paul Wilson, Australia (Technical)

Eligible Voting Members for 2020

(Please refer to the Election Procedure for the criteria)

  1. Klée Aiken, International Journal of Digital Peace and Security (Academia)
  2. Babu Ram Aryal, Internet Governance Institute (Civil Society)
  3. Gunela Astbrink, Internet Australia (Civil Society)
  4. Satish Babu, APRALO (Civil Society)
  5. Udeep Baral, Internet Society Nepal (Technical)
  6. Melody Bendindang, APNIC (Technical)
  7. N.Sudha Bhuvaneswari, Dr.G.R Damodaran College of Science (Academia)
  8. Sylvia Cadena, APNIC (Technical)
  9. Joyce Chen, APNIC (Technical)
  10. YingChu Chen, Taiwan Institute of Economic Research (Academia)
  11. Sunny Chendi, APNIC (Technical)
  12. Yik Chan Chin, Xi'an Jiaotong-Liverpool University (Academia)
  13. Edmon Chung, DotAsia Organisation (Technical)
  14. Noelle de Guzman, Internet Society (Technical)
  15. Chat Garcia Ramilo, Association for Progressive Communications (Civil Society)
  16. Ananda Gautam, Internet Governance Institute (Civil Society)
  17. Waqas Hassan, Pakistan Telecommunication Authority (Government)
  18. Maureen Hilyard, ALAC (At-Large Advisory Committee), ICANN (Civil Society)
  19. Jahangir Hossain, Internet Society Bangladesh (Technical)
  20. Hiro Hotta, JPRS (Technical)
  21. Priyatosh Jana, Mallabhum Institute of Technology (Academia)
  22. Sumit Jha, NFCSF (Private Sector)
  23. Shubha Kayastha, Body & Data (Civil Society)
  24. Gayatri Khandhadai, APC (Civil Society)
  25. Samridh Kudesia, Reimagining Higher Education Foundation (Plaksha University) (Technical)
  26. Cherie Lagakali, PICISOC (Civil Society)
  27. Cheryl Langdon-Orr, Internet Australia and NetThing MSC (Civil Society)
  28. Sabrina Lim, ICANN (Technical)
  29. Jia Rong Low, ICANN (Technical)
  30. Anju Mangal, The World Wide Web Foundation (WWW) (Inter-governmental)
  31. Mary Rose Ofianga, E3Hubs Philippines (Private Sector)
  32. Rom Kant Pandey, Tribhuvan University (Academia)
  33. Ram Krishna Pariyar, Subisu Cablenet Pvt Ltd (Technical)
  34. Shah Rahman, cWork Microjob Ltd (Technical)
  35. Gnanajeyaraman Rajaram, SBM College of Engineering and Technology (Academia)
  36. Pavitra Ramanujam, Association for Progressive Communications (APC) (Civil Society)
  37. Vivek Rana, InfoAssure LLP (Technical)
  38. Shreedeep Rayamajhi, Rayznews (Civil Society)
  39. Winston Roberts, National Library of New Zealand (Civil Society)
  40. Mubashir Sargana, Pakistan (Civil Society)
  41. Mili Semlani, Youth4IG (Civil Society)
  42. Muhammad Shabbir, Internet Society Accessibility Special Interest Group (Academia)
  43. Bikram Shrestha, Nepal Internet Foundation (Civil Society)
  44. Hempal Shrestha, Consulting IT and Legal Researcher (Civil Society)
  45. Rajnesh Singh, Internet Society (Technical)
  46. Chester Soong, ISOC Hong Kong (Civil Society)
  47. Prabesh Subedi, Media Chautari (Private Sector)
  48. Leonid Todorov, APTLD (Technical)
  49. Mohammad Kawsar Uddin, Internet Society Bangladesh Chapter (Civil Society)
  50. Paul Wilson, APNIC (Technical)
  51. Hong Xue, Beijing Normal University (Academia)

Voting Rules and Procedure:

  • Each eligible voting member will have ONE vote for EACH position and there will not be any proxy votes.
  • Candidates are not allowed to vote for the respective position that they are running for.
  • Eligible voting members will receive individual voting credentials for the online voting platform via email at the start of the voting period.
  • Any eligible voting members listed above that do not receive any login credentials by 7 July, should contact the secretariat as soon as possible.
  • The election result will be announced by the Election Committee within 48 working hours after the voting period closing.

For any enquiries, please contact the Election Committee at [email protected].

- last updated 29 Jun 2020